View Cart | View Account | Help
Order by phone: 800-880-2592
Check out our favorite NEW ARRIVALS
Need it fast? Order before 4pm Eastern and your order ships SAME DAY.

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Question about an opener for a busking routine
PostPosted: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:18 pm 
Penguin

I'm relatively new to busking and was just wondering if doing a card trick were a good way to draw a small crowd. I'm hoping that once I draw a small crowd I can move to linking rings or something else that is more visually appealing.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 18, 2008 8:35 pm 

Get gazzo's DVD or any DVD on busking.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 18, 2008 10:12 pm 

Along with buying anything and everything by both Gazzo and Cellini, look for quick, "no brainer" visual effects that reset automatically. Examples would be TT and silk vanish, coin vanishes or flourishes, that sort of thing. Some card flourishers may disagree, but I think you should hold off on cards as an opener, saving them for later in the show after you've stopped a few people.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 18, 2008 11:16 pm 
Penguin

I guess that I didn't really phrase my question right, but DaveV answered it nonetheless. I was asking if traditional up close tricks would be appropriate to lure a crowd in. [/i]

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2008 5:14 am 

Both of us said the same thing. I require that you do the work and Dave just did it for you. Neither one of us is saying "go buy a DVD and do what it tells you to do." We are saying buy the DVD, LEARN the PRINCIPLES it teaches then write your own act.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2008 10:24 pm 
born to perform.

Magic is all about your patter. Anybody over 10 could do some simple push-over DL within 30 seconds of being told how, but only a few would be entertaining.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 19, 2008 11:01 pm 
Penguin

What does Fred's post have anything to do with my question?

Post subject: