View Cart | View Account | Help
Order by phone: 800-880-2592
Check out our favorite NEW ARRIVALS
Need it fast? Order before 4pm Eastern and your order ships SAME DAY.

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Classic Pass Necessary?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 10:10 pm 
Penguin

I just recieved Expert Card Technique today and it has a section all about passes, but no classic pass, and haven't learned the classic pass yet. Would it affect me much if I practice these passes in Expert Card Technique without knowing how to do the classic pass? By the way, I am not a beginner in card magic. I would say I'm intermediate.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 04, 2007 10:29 pm 
Emperor Penguin

The classic pass is not necessary in magic. There are ways around it. Now I'm not saying that it isn't a great slieght to know, because it can be used to make effects seem even more impossible.

Any pass though, if done properly, will give you the same result as the classic pass. Granted, some are more convincing, some are easier to do, some are more angle proof, and some are just ridiculous. Each pass has it's own advantages, and disadvantages.

Personally though, I would recommending getting Pass with Care by Peter Cassford. In my opinion, it's one of the best sources on the classic pass. He shows that you don't have to perform it very quickly (he actually shows a 10 second pass). He teaches everything you need to know on the classic pass. It's a great source, and I believe it would be beneficial.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 05, 2007 8:44 pm 
Penguin

Yes, I have heard many good things about Pass With Care, but I don't really want a source that is all on the pass. If there was a book or DVD that taught the classic pass really good, along with other sleights or effects, I would probably get it.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 05, 2007 8:46 pm 
born to perform.