View Cart | View Account | Help
Order by phone: 800-880-2592
Check out our favorite NEW ARRIVALS
Need it fast? Order before 4pm Eastern and your order ships SAME DAY.

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: NEWBIE learning new moves
PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 12:57 am 
Penguin

I am new to magic (just a month old)

i have learnt a few routines and a few moves.
what should i learn next?

i have learnt :
ultimate transpo
ambitious card
two card monte
biddle trick
basically every tricks in the born to perform dvd.
i have also learnt the hitman (i think it is the easiest and the one which gets the best reaction)
and clutch.

so what routine/MOVE should i learn next?

Post subject: Re: NEWBIE learning new moves
PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 4:47 am 
born to perform.

That is a great repertoire of effects. I would focus on those for a while. Try to perfect them. Think not only of performing the moves but how to best present them. As for new stuff, I would start focusing on improving the moves(sleights) taught in Born to Perform. That way you are still perfecting the tricks you already know but you are just replacing certain moves used to perform those effects with better moves.

As a beginner I would recommend starting with the DL. It will be a workhorse sleight for beginner and intermediate card magicians(advance card guys tend to use it less and less) You might as well find the DL that you like now as it will likely be with you the rest of your life. I know a lot of pros swear by the basic DL taught in BTP but I just don't think it looks natural. For me I went with a "flashier" DL, others go for a more "natural looking" DL. Search youtube for demos of the following DLs. Push off DL, Strike DL, Diving Board Double, Knock Out DL, and Derek Dingle DL. There is a great DL that Chris Beason uses but for the life of me I can't remember the name. I'll get back to you with that.