View Cart | View Account | Help
Order by phone: 800-880-2592
Check out our favorite NEW ARRIVALS
Need it fast? Order before 4pm Eastern and your order ships SAME DAY.

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: help with getting started
PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 3:41 pm 
Penguin

i'm not a complete noob, i've been doing magic for a while now but mentalism has always been something i've wanted to get into. i got some adice a couple months ago to read 13 steps to mentalism .... so i did. now I know alot of the core ideas and moves but the book didn't have many tricks that were practical for me. Don't get me wrong i loved the book but it concentrated more on stage effects which i'm far away form. so i'm wondering what i should do now. i think i need some solid routines at this point. I'm thinking i should get another book because i believe more in books than dvds (my preference) so im thinking maybe prism? or practical mental magic. any advice would be greatly appreciated thank you!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 4:16 pm 
Emperor Penguin

Practical Mental Magic is another good starter source. With that knowledge, as well as the 13 steps (which you should be able to incorporate into close-up magic), you have a great foundation.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 5:17 pm 
Penguin

Corinda and Annemann will give you great techniques to start with,
here is an example of a routine out of Annemann.

http://vids.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=vids.individual&VideoID=2159070

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2009 7:42 pm 
Penguin

For me the cornerstones of mentalism in book form are Practical Mental Magic, 13 Steps and Prism.