View Cart | View Account | Help
Order by phone: 800-880-2592
Check out our favorite NEW ARRIVALS
Need it fast? Order before 4pm Eastern and your order ships SAME DAY.

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Starting Mentalism.. Need help
PostPosted: Thu Mar 11, 2004 12:02 pm 
Penguin

Ive been doing card magic for two years now. i am planning to start mentalism ..and i am not sure what book should i choose between "Pre-thougths by Banachek" or "Practical Mental Magic by Annemanne".
Im also planning to buy the Vol.1 of Osterlind's DVD.

I would like to hear your suggestions... Thanks!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 11, 2004 12:10 pm 
Penguin

you should start with the very beginning with 13 steps to mentalism by Corinda. Everyone who is interested in starting mentalism should start by reading this book. You won't really buy this book for the effects and routines that are in it but more to understand what is mentalism and how should a mentalist think.

I heard a lot too about Practical mental magic by Anneman and you should get a hand on those books too. Those 3 books will give you a solid basic fondation in mentalism and it,s then up to you to choose from the other material out there what will be for you.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 11, 2004 12:16 pm 
Penguin

but penguin dont sell the 13 steps to mentalism...
which would be better? Pre-thoughts or Practical Mental Magic?

by the way, i live in france, i always buy in penguin and wouldn't buy books if penguin dont carry them. thanks for the reply! :D

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 11, 2004 1:08 pm 
born to perform.

not pre thoughts.
practical mental magic would be better. but i urge you to get corinda from another dealer.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 11, 2004 1:29 pm 
born to perform.