View Cart | View Account | Help
Order by phone: 800-880-2592
Check out our favorite NEW ARRIVALS
Need it fast? Order before 4pm Eastern and your order ships SAME DAY.

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Starting out
PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2006 6:45 pm 
Penguin

Im starting escapology just about x-mas time. I am onna get the Houdini Death Device and the Ankle Cuffs. I have had some experience with the siberian chain in the past (it was sort of a cheap one though) and i was just wondering if u guys thought it is a great type of magic to get into. I'm gonna start performing b-day parties n such in 2 years and i want to get some practice at it. Any opinions? (I already am doing street magic and some mentalism magic, but i want to do something new).

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2006 7:02 pm 
Emperor Penguin

Escapology is not like magic. What you are doing is real. It can be quite dangerous. That is the first thing you have to realize.
You should start off doing rope escapes. Then work up from there. And it will take a lot of practice.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2006 9:13 am 
born to perform.

Quote:
Escapology is not like magic. What you are doing is real.

:?: :roll: :?: :roll: :?: :roll:

Okay SOME escapes are real; others are just clever dodges or mechanical gaffs. It depends on what you plan to do and how you plan to do it.

Either way, the laymen don't know the difference.

As to advice:

If the 'Houdini Death Device' is the collar-and-cuffs, don't bother; it's a poorly-conceived trick.

Read some good books on escapes, don't feel compelled to do everything 'for real,' and don't get 'full of yourself.'

Good luck.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 6:14 am 
Penguin

Definetely start with ropes... even if you are interested in other kinds of escapes, I think it's wise to have a good grounding in the roots of the discipline (which I believe ropes are).

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 14, 2007 1:02 pm 
Penguin