View Cart | View Account | Help
Order by phone: 800-880-2592
Check out our favorite NEW ARRIVALS
Need it fast? Order before 4pm Eastern and your order ships SAME DAY.

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Performing for Children
PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2005 11:15 am 
Penguin

I'm an amateur card magician. I'm planning on performing for groups of children this week (it's take your kids to work day... :-). I'm more nervous about performing in front of kids than I am with adults. I think adults are sometimes easier to fool. And I certainly think that if -- God forbid -- I flash something, they are less likely to call me out!

I'm just curious as to what other's think about performing for children versus adults.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2005 5:20 pm 
Team Penguin

You just have to know how to work with them. Some people prefer to work with adults, others children. Some even do well with both. You just have to learn the way they work. They fall for different types of misdirection and laugh at totally different types of jokes. Once you find the way they tick...you will have it made!

And yes, if a child sees something or even thinks that they see something, they will most definately let you know!

I would suggest some sucker card effects because kids love it when a magician messes up...but then you give them a slap in the face with a surprise ending!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2005 10:00 am 

I love performing for children, but they are definitely a much harder audience. Children react differently depending on their age groups. They have shorter attention spans, and a very limited set of life experiences. They are not confined by proper manners and react by their instincts. There is a lot to learn when performing effectively in front of children and much of it is often taken for granted by professionals and non-professionals alike.