View Cart | View Account | Help
Order by phone: 800-880-2592
Check out our favorite NEW ARRIVALS
Need it fast? Order before 4pm Eastern and your order ships SAME DAY.

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: how should i get my name around to start doing kid shows?
PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2005 6:35 pm 
Penguin

I am 16 years old I have been doing magic for about 2 years i have a few questions on how to get started into the kid show birthday party world.

first: how do you get your name out there so people know to hire you.
second: what prices should you charge.
thrid: what age should the children be.
and finally: what are the best tricks to bring.

Thanks guys :lol: :lol: :lol:

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2005 7:26 pm 
born to perform.

Welcome to penguin!!!

To answer a few of your questions,
First: The best way to get your name out there is word of mouth, maybe do a few free shows and spread the word your a magician. Also a few posters in local play schools.

Second: When starting off you don't want to charge to much, maybe just fuel money ($20) Once you get plenty of experience, ect. you could charge anywhere between $70 - $100. It really all depends how good you and your show is. The best way to find out is ask people what they think your show is worth.

Third: That is all up to you. What age is your material suitable for? I am personally going for ages 5 - 9.

Finally: Well what do you have and I might be able to tell you what to bring. Also you say what to bring? You should have a act worked out.
Here's a link for a list of useful props: http://www.penguinmagic.com/europe/disc ... hp?t=69798

I highly recommend buying yourself a few books. Any books from David Ginn are well worth a look. If you buy one of the books you will have little if any question's to ask.

Mike ~

Post subject: thanks
PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2005 7:57 pm 
Penguin