View Cart | View Account | Help
Order by phone: 800-880-2592
Check out our favorite NEW ARRIVALS
Need it fast? Order before 4pm Eastern and your order ships SAME DAY.

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: tips for riding a unicycle?
PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 1:47 pm 
Penguin

Location: learning how to unicycle...on my roof...while juggling knives...
hello I have been juggling for 1 1/2 years and have just started riding a unicycle and I need some help. I have looked on youtube and cant find anything so I decided to look here, I could not find any other topics on learning to ride a unicycle, so I am making my own. I have been practicing for about a week and I can only stay on for 3 or 4 seconds. :(
I was told that riding a unicycle was like a mix between riding a bike and pogo stick, I am really good at both of those so I thought that I would be able to unicycle... its not working.
any tips?

Cirkus :)

Post subject: Re: tips for riding a unicycle?
PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 3:23 pm 
Penguin

I've never ridden one, so I'll use what I know of physics to help you out.

1. When you're in motion, it's going to be WAY easier to balance.
2. If you're slowing to reverse, or stop, you'll want to lean away from the direction you're currently moving. With practice, gravity will keep you from flying head over heels. Oh, and either put your feet down quick, or pedal backwards quick. You can't stay balanced at a full stop for long.
3. Turn by leaning. If you lean left, you'll turn left. Lean right, turn right.
4. Practice, practice, practice. The more you practice, the better you'll get at keeping your balance, and recovering when you do start to tip.
5. Wear a helmet and pads, at least while you're practicing.

It might help if you practice first by riding a bike without touching the handlebars. That'll get you used to leaning to turn.

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 4:02 pm 
Penguin

#2 is the biggest problem, if I slow down or stop than I fall off even faster.