View Cart | View Account | Help
Order by phone: 800-880-2592
Check out our favorite NEW ARRIVALS
Need it fast? Order before 4pm Eastern and your order ships SAME DAY.

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: The Shakes
PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2011 3:31 am 
Penguin

Hey there people,

I'm new to magic, been practising moves for 6 months now (card manipulation and mentalism) and I feel confident enough to pull of some effects. I bought "born to perform" a long time ago and I took the ambitious card trick from it as one of the first longer tricks I do.

Months ago I did tricks for my family and friends and had massive shakes (hands were just acting stupid). I thought it was because i didn't know the effects very well, so i continued practising so i could do the moves while shaking. Mentally I'm fine, don't really feel nervous, but physically I'm going crazy......which sucks.

Last week I did tricks for people in bars, and again, the shakes came. I still did the tricks without major flaws and only my girlfriend said she could see a DL, but i guess it's because she knows what she is looking for. Anyway, the shakes really didn't help the performance.

So is this something that will pass? Or are there people just not build for performing? When i do public speaking I don't care if i make mistakes, am I taking magic too serious? Any of you had shakes at the start?

They'll pass in time. You can be as familiar as all get out with the effects, but until you're used to performing them for people besides yourself, you'll be nervous. You've got to get used to being in front of people. Keep performing, eventually you'll notice a boost in confidence, and the shakes will vanish!

Post subject: Re: The Shakes
PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2011 6:47 am 
born to perform.