View Cart | View Account | Help
Order by phone: 800-880-2592
Check out our favorite NEW ARRIVALS
Need it fast? Order before 4pm Eastern and your order ships SAME DAY.

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Tips and trick suggestions for this situation?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2013 8:54 pm 
Penguin

I want to start doing some restaurant gigs, but I'm not really sure which tricks I should use and how many? Any kind, style and amount of tricks is appreciated. Also, any tips for getting and maintaining the gig? I'm fairly new to the idea of being employed to do magic. Thanks everyone in advance :)

Post subject: Re: Tips and trick suggestions for this situation?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:22 pm 
born to perform.

Welcome to Penguin Town! How long have you been practicing magic and what has been your performance experience so far?

PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 11:45 am 
Penguin

Welcome to Penguin Town! It sounds like you are fairly new, so if you haven't been there already, check out the Penguin forum section that's entirley devoted to restaurant/walkaround magic viewforum.php?f=6

Stuck to the very top is a set of tips that you might find useful. Good luck!

PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 1:34 pm 
Penguin

A really good question is, what kind of material do you perform now? That is the most important thing to consider. Don't just learn a trick because it will be good for a restaurant. There are so many effects and tricks that work in all situations. What I could perform well, you might not be able to naturally do at a table. And, you may have things you can do much better than me. I know a pretty famous magician that loves to pull out the old paddle packet trick. I would NEVER perform that. Not because I do not like it, but because it doesn't fit my performance style.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2013 3:34 pm 
Penguin