This is your chance to learn the best number trick in the world. https://t.co/WqGWq..

> Decibel by Adam Wilber

Subject to change Report this review
Pro Privacy ON (login to see reviewer names) on July 15th, 2016
got it yesterday, used it once and it's broken. I was very careful with it and still it broke. When it works it's mind blowing and awesome but none of that matters if it's too delicate to use more than once. I'm still waiting to see what Ellusionist does to resolve this, so if they stand behind it like the creator says he does and fix it..I'll be more than happy to change this review and recommend this HIGHLY. As it is right now...BEWARE... This may well be the most expensive piece of garbage you own

Report this comment
cyberave03
Jul 18th 2016 2:36pm
Obviously sounds like a defective unit, so you should have waited until it was fixed or replaced to give an accurate review.

Report this comment
gibby357
Jul 19th 2016 6:14am
He has every right to be disappointed and upset over his purchase. Whether they fix the problem or not, you never get a second chance to make a first impression.

Report this comment
Natalie21
Jul 20th 2016 4:42pm
If they ALL broke (or more than one at least....) then you can say garbage...but if its just yours and everyone elses never broke then it cant be called garbage....

Report this comment
Natalie21
Jul 20th 2016 4:43pm
If they ALL broke (or more than one at least....) then you can say garbage...but if its just yours and everyone elses never broke then it cant be called garbage....

Report this comment
areeve
Jul 21st 2016 7:44am
Yes, every run of every product is bound to have some lemons. If every unit breaks during use OR they don't make good on it then there's a legitimate complaint. Yes, it's frustrating, but that's life. It was inappropriate to give a 1 star review based solely on you receiving the one bad unit.

Report this comment
n8magix
Jul 21st 2016 4:58pm
I understand. I purchased Magma,and it broke first try.But Peguin sent me a brand new one and its great.This is a pricey effect.And i would be upset to.But they should send you anthoer one. Ive been buying from Peguin and ELLUSIONIST for years.Only had to return one product the whole time.Hey i got the TRAVELER by Jeff Copeland and lost it the 2nd night at work.That hurt.Hey check out Little Door.Or Mark Elsdon Peguin live lecture.Or anything Rick Lax puts out.

Report this comment
n8magix
Jul 21st 2016 4:59pm
Without giving it away,what broke?Im curious .

Report this comment
Patrickster
Jul 21st 2016 6:05pm
What kind of a person comes down on someone for giving their opinion in a review, when they spent over $100 on a gimmick that broke immediately? Reviews are based on your own experience with a product; not how others have experienced that product.

I don't care how many others have had success with it. Hell, the only way I even know how others are getting along with it is through these reviews! If mine breaks right away, my review is not going to be very positive either. The reviewer clearly stated that they liked the effect, and that the review was "subject to change".

The description states clearly that "This versatile gimmick is machined with sports-car precision. Powerful and durable.". Well? If the creator stands behind that statement, they should be watching these reviews and stepping in to offer a refund for our poor magi to the north. C'mon, big brother and sister...don't try to tell other people how they should rate a product.

I think the world is getting more and more stupid by the day!

Report this comment
DarcyW
Jul 22nd 2016 10:31pm
at least Patrickster understands basic logic, but apparently it seems the rest here don't... it's a review of his experience, his experience was bad, he has every right to post a bad review

Report this comment
STREETSHOWKEITH
Jul 24th 2016 3:52pm
I ve been gung ho about this product. Got an iphone just to do it. Waiting for my shop to get the order. This is a great heads up as i tebd to keep things on me almost always. Really hoping this aint some dainty piece of tech.
Thanks for the review.
Smilesotheylikeyou


Report this comment
STREETSHOWKEITH
Jul 24th 2016 3:52pm
I ve been gung ho about this product. Got an iphone just to do it. Waiting for my shop to get the order. This is a great heads up as i tebd to keep things on me almost always. Really hoping this aint some dainty piece of tech.
Thanks for the review.
Smilesotheylikeyou


Report this comment
cyberave03
Jul 27th 2016 2:28pm
Review "of the experience"? Wrong. These ratings are supposed to be of the product itself to let potential buyers know what to expect, not of an isolated, aberrant experience from an obviously defective unit that is in no way representative of the trick in general. Certainly mentioning his bad experience in the review is relevant, but Payne even said "it's mind blowing and awesome"; the 1 star rating he gave it, therefore, does a disservice to the trick and it's creator.

Report this comment
Patrickster
Jul 27th 2016 7:32pm
Cyberrave03 is completely wrong. What if 10 other people had theirs break too? At what point can he state the issue he ran into? At what point is a poor review "acceptable" to you? If it was up to you, big brother, it would be never. It only can get poor reviews when others have the same issue? Perhaps others did break, but they haven't left a review here yet. Or maybe we'll find a bunch break after a month... who cares? Every review is based on the user's experience. Wait until you have an expensive product break immediately. Guessing you'll leave a neg review also, and if you don't, then you are doing the rest of us a disservice. And how is it doing a disservice to the trick and creator, when obviously at least some of these were poorly made? When I perform a trick, and it breaks while using it, that does a disservice to me and my profession, and a review needs to let us know of that possibility.

Report this comment
areeve
Jul 27th 2016 9:14pm
Patrickster, To address your comment on what I did when I had a lousy product experience: I gave the company a chance to rectify it. I recognize that these reviews are supposed to be reviews of the product as a whole and not one instance of the product. And if they ALL break and the company does nothing to rectify it then I'm sure we'll hear about it. Anyhow, everyone is entitled to post whatever they want as this is the Internet... people can even say "I think the world is getting more and more stupid by the day!" to imply that if another doesn't agree with what one says then they are stupid. I do credit the original reviewer for not just giving the product one star, but for, at least, elaborating that it was simply because of their possibly isolated bad experience. Lance has had almost two weeks to update us on his experience. Often, when people are satisfied they're done... they don't come back and fix their review or upgrade it now that they are happy. I sure would like to hear a follow up one way or the other based on the original review. In any event, this is the Internet so it's not like anyone is going to change anyone else's mind about anything :-)

Report this comment
Patrickster
Jul 29th 2016 8:05am
areeve, I agree with you, and I was being overly obnoxious to counter-balance what I perceived to be attacks on someone for stating their opinion. That treads into the "freedom of speech" arena, in my opinion. When people start to tell someone what they "can't say", or that they "should have" went about something in a different manner, it is aggregating, and those folks spouting their opinions rarely are reasoned with via logic and sound arguments, in my experience, hence the verbal slam. I could have handled that in a more positive way. ;)

Report this comment
adamwilber81
Aug 04th 2016 7:55pm
This is Adam Wilber the creator of Decibel. I am all for open and honest reviews but I also do feel it's a bit premature to leave such a nasty review when you clearly just got a faulty unit. I absolutely stand behind my effect 100% and if your unit is faulty I am more than happy to send you a replacement ASAP at no cost.

You posted this review on the 15th of July so I am assuming you have been in touch with Penguin to resolve it as it appears this is where you bought it? If you have not gotten this resolved then feel free to contact me directly.

You are of course free to post any review you see fit but to call something I worked so hard on an expensive piece of garbage especially after 95% of the feedback I get being so positive is troubling to say the least.

-Adam Wilber


Report this comment
mikelodion13
Aug 09th 2016 8:29am
Adam is a great person.
Contact him and you will find a good answer.

Report this comment
Stone99
Oct 29th 2016 9:29am
I feel the pain the buyer must have felt. I recently had the same sort of experience with EVP by Alan Rorrison. Got a unit that never worked and i informed them the very next day after receiving the package. The unit was too faint to put out any sound.

Contacted Penguin who tried convincing me to keep it and that they wont even support me with a replacement. Lovely attitude. Then had to take it up with Alan Rorrison who told me hes doing me a big favor by replacing my unit and that he would speak to Penguin folks. Penguin then replaced my unit, or so they say !!. The 2nd unit also has the same problem and the creator didn't bother to reply me or help me sort this out and get it to work for me. Now its expensive garbage that's lying unused even a single time. It does make people's blood boil to loose hard earned money on something so expensive that wouldn't even work a single time.

Add a comment
Bestsellers
See all bestsellers



Act Builder beta



     Get To Know Us

     Shipping and Store Policies

     Need Help?

Home | About Penguin Magic | The Penguin Foundation

Mail orders: Penguin Magic, 3299 Monier Circle, Unit A, Rancho Cordova, CA 95742
Call us at 800-880-2592 | International Dial: +1 707-317-6733

© 2002-2016 Penguin Magic. All Rights Reserved.
We hope you found the magic tricks you were looking for!